Reviews

“Wow! Amazing accommodation – everything we needed for our stay. Thank you Charles and Gillian for making us feel so welcome. Perfect location for touring the sights.  The free garage made having the car no problem parking it and forgot about it!”

J&J –  UK – April 2017

“Many thanks again for your hospitality and for your personalized navigation help. We’ve enjoyed our time in Well Cottage very much and only wish we had longer. You have made it into a very comfortable retreat, and it really is a perfect location for exploring Lincoln on foot, which is really the only way to explore a medieval city. Seeing the visiting Domesday Book as well as the resident Magna Carta and Charter of the Forest was unexpected and thrilling. We are leaving with a couple of silver imps for our children. We found the imp in the Cathedral with some help from a docent who saw me staring unsuccessfully up at the top of the pillar by St. Hugh. “I expect you’re looking for the imp,” he said. Indeed.”

B&U – USA – May 2017

“We have enjoyed our short break here very much. The cottage is well located for the principle sights of Lincoln, and the hosts have thought of everything to make the accommodation comfortable eg “real coffee”! Unfortunately we didn’t have the opportunity to test the Jacuzzi. Oh, and having the garage was a real bonus and was one of the deciding factors when we were booking. Thank you Charles for the pre-visit information and also for being there to show us “the ropes” on arrival.”

“Well appreciated – Well Equipped – Well Enjoyed – Well Cottage!”

M&C – UK – July 2017

“We had a lovely stay. The hosts are wonderful and thoughtful so thank you. Go to the Modern for a curry. The Straight and Narrow for a good pint and Pizza Express for a good pizza. We look forward to being repeat customers.”

C&S – Canada – July 2017

“We had a fantastic time over in Lincoln on my 56th birthday. We love this city and we have in all my travels stopped in such a wonderful place as Well Cottage. We will 100% be back again soon. Many thanks to Charles and Gillian for making the cottage so stunning in every way. We love the place – thank you.

C&S – UK August 2017

We don’t want to go home!!! Beautiful cottage with everything you need. I had NO!!! intention of cooking but got so cosy I didn’t want to go out! Thank you.

Charles you are a star ! We have rented lots of cottages but your hosting skills surpass all – If you hadn’t been here to greet us we would have abandoned the car and given up hope of finding the car park. You are ACE!!!

C, D and C – UK August 2017

It is obvious that a lot of thought has gone into providing for visitors’ needs here. A lovely well equipped cottage in a superb location; so convenient for the best part of the city. We have enjoyed our stay and would happily come back and definitely recommend to friends and and family.

Thank you Charles and Gill.

S, D & P – UK October 2017

Thank you to Charles and Gill. I noticed that we forgot to write in the visitors’ bookin April 2015  so I would not forget this time. We love this place! It puts us right in the middle of all the action! We really enjoyed the “Sausage Festival”. We had no idea how many ways you serve sausage. we had a wonderful stay. We can tell that great love and care have been put into this home.We cannot wait to come back again.

The S’s – Utah USA

A lovely short break in Lincoln catching up with friends and family celebrating Andy’s birthday. The cottage is perfect with everything considered and beautifully clean. Thank you for the boubles too – a lovely touch. We tried the Wig and Mitre for dinner as recommended by Charlie and had a really delicious meal. Thank you!

L, S and A – London UK October 2017

Lovely location, great house, superbly equipped and a most charming host – with grateful thanks.

M – Gloucester November 2017

Thank you for a lovely stay in a wonderfully equipped cottage. A warm welcome from the first moment of booking.  Very good value with all the extras and the personal touches.  We will be back again!

LR – Holland November 2017

Lovely cottage!! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in the centre of Lincoln! Good location, immaculate cottage, fantastichosts. Can definately recommend the Wig and Mitre who provided us with a free bottle of house wine with our main course using the cottage voucher and dog friendly! Will most definately be visiting soon! 🙂

N, S, S, K & J – Skelmersdale Lancashire November 2017

Fantastic location. Lovely cottage and everything you need. Very clean and warm. Extremely helpful hosts. Will definitely recommend to friends. Thank you!

C&T – Yorkshire November 2017

Outstanding stay, beautiful cottage in a wonderful location. Thank you for all of  the extra touches. We will be back again.

T&S – The Wirrel  December 2017

Beautiful cottage so clean and well equipped. Very generous with all tea, coffee, sugar,  bath items and the wine. we felt really spotlit. Bathroom fabulous and loved the garden area. I had always wanted to visit the Christmas Market as my Mum and Dad talked about it a lot. It was a wonderful experience . Thanks for all your time Charles and Gillian. Hope to come again.

L&B – Sheffield December 2017

What a lovely house and hosts, enjoyed our short break, like Lincoln – will hopefully return.

S, A and E – Hollyn East Yorks December 2017

Thank you for making our Christmas so special with all the tasteful decorations including the tree in the courtyard with lights. Certainly the best rented accommodation we have stayed in – so well equipped. Well done 5 stars (J says 6 stars!!).  We loved Lincoln and the location of the cottage was perfect.

S, S and J – Surrey December 2017

In the midst of English winter your cottage was so warming and ambient a truly inviting, thoughtfully decorated cottage set in such a beautiful location. A true chance to unwind and immerse ourselves in history whilst being so very comfortable, a true credit to the wonderful owners – thank you Charles and Gillian such a pleasure to have crossed paths with you.

G – Moama NSW Australia

R – Melbourne Victoria Australia January 2018

Had an amazing weekend in the most perfect cottage. What a find must thank my friend for recommending it! The cottage has everything you could possibly need, the finishing touches are fantastic, the breakfast pack, milk and fresh orange a great touch. The “Fizz” was much appreciated after a long week.  Perfect location for a stay in Lincoln. We had planned to cook on Friday and eat out on Saturday, however, we ended up staying in on both nights! A big thank you to Charles and Gillian.  We look forward to seeing you again soon.

A, I ,  P and E – North Lincolnshire January 2018

A wonderful 3 day stay at Well Cottage and we really wish we were stopping longer! The cottage has everything, especially enjoyed getting back to the warm cosy cottage at night, pulling on our complimentary gowns & slippers, and relaxing with a glass of wine in front of the fire. Hope to be back very soon.

C&S – Derby April 2018

Absolutely fantastic! We have enjoyed staying in this lovely cottage. It is a wonderful location – so central but lovely and tranquil. your thoughtfulness, leaving everything we need to remove the stress of finding where to buy milk and bread on arrival made all the difference. We felt spoilt with the little big extras of wine orange juice etc. It all added up to a five star holiday. We hope to stay again soon. It is a great way to combine a holiday within “A” s parents in Lincolnshire. I have already recommended it to family and friends – what a fantastic “Google” find!

K&A – Birmingham – April 2018

Thank you. We have really enjoyed our stay. Its been, quite, peaceful and relaxed. A wonderful town to explore, from a comfortable and warm home. A real delight.

D&T – Suffolk – April 2018

Well Cottage is really top, so well appointed & positioned. Many thanks for your warm welcome & prompt help. Its been a great treat to stay here and we’ll certainly recommend it to family and friends – 11/10.

R&C – Wellington New Zealand – April 2018

What a lovely base from which to discover a very interesting and attractive city. Perfectly positioned a little way up Steep Hill but not so far that we needed ropes and oxygen masks to reach it, this is a delightful little home from home. We felt welcome and comfortable and happy and would recommend this cottage (and this city) to anyone who wants a break.

J,K &H – Ipswich, Suffolk – April 2018

A warm welcome from Charles and everything we could possibly want in the cottage. Loved Lincoln and loved Well Cottage – we will be back !

P,N,J & A – Bedford and Buxton – April 2018

A wonderful cottage in a great location equiped with everything!!Really enjoyed our time here made even more enjoyable by Charles being a great host !! His attention to detail in the cottage is outstanding!!

M & C – North Berwick Scotland – April 2018

Wow! Brilliant house, loved it. Thanks so much x

R & J C – London – May 2018

Our second visit to Well Cottage, just as great as our first time with extras that were very welcome. Would recommend Belton (NT) and the Aviation Museum near Newark (went on a rainy day). Worth the drive to Sutton-on-Sea lovely beach. Burton Road Chippy an absolute must!! Thank you again xx

T,J, H, I and F – Bexleyheath Kent – May 2018

We received a warm welcome on arrival and all the personal touches really made the cottage (In case you “forgot box” + wine/juice). Gorgeous cottage in a superb location.

Would 100% stop again! 🙂

PS – Jacuzzi bath is heaven.

B’s & Ws – Cardiff Wales – June 2018

Brilliant location, accommodation lovely. We will be back but for longer next time! xx

C & R – Stowmarket Suffolk – June 2018

We has the most amazing time again in this beautiful cottage. The finish of the cottage and attention to details is impeccable and the hospitality is 6* (and the rest) Can’t wait to come back (and sure will recommend it to everybody who likes us 🙂 What an amazing cottage and Lincoln is a lovely place we will definitely be coming back. Thank you so much 🙂

E&P – Scawby N.Lincs, and J&G – Horsham W.Sussex – June 2018

The very best spot in Lincoln!

Oh wow, where to start? This property is truly amazing. It’s located in the most charming part of a beautiful, historic city, within a few minutes walk of the cathedral, castle, and darling shops and pubs. This perfectly decorated cottage is immaculately clean and has so many thoughtful touches that I can’t even begin to name them all. The gorgeous bathroom is like a private spa (stocked with literally anything you might need, including extra toothbrushes, face wipes, pads, razors, etc, in addition to the requisite shampoo/conditioner/hand lotion. etc). The kitchen is light and airy and full of modern amenities and it opens up on to a sunny, completely private patio. The bright bedrooms are comfy and full of the little things you’d find in fine hotels (slippers, fluffy pillows and duvets, wardrobes and closets with nice hangers, etc.). The living room is stocked with great movies and soft sofas and blankets. Every room reveals thoughtful surprises. It’s as though the owners sat down together one day and said to each other, “I know, let’s think of everything our guests could possibly want, and make sure we provide them.”

Charles (who’s very easy to keep in contact with, btw) met us on arrival and was the consummate host, enthusiastically sharing info about the cottage and local area. He even provided some gluten free food for our kids who have celiac problems.SO kind. This is the sort of cottage I could happily plonk myself down in and never leave. Honestly, it was love at first sight. Please, oh please, Charles and Gillian, can’t I stay forever? 🙂

PS If you like history, don’t miss the cathedral rooftop tour! Oak beams from nearby Sherwood forest, cut in the time of Robin Hood!

B,R,S and K – Oregon USA – July 2018

Totally fantastic – could not ask for more. Felt at home the minute we arrived. Great welcome from Charles. Love Lincoln, shops, castle, cathedral. Wig + Mitre fantastic food, staff and setting. We can’t wait to come back in October. Thanks for everything. 🙂

R and D – Linlithgow Scotland – July 2018

Lovely cottage had everything we needed for our short break. Great welcome from Charles. Not enough time to try all the fantastic eating places.  Castle and Cathedral as expected , brilliant. Really enjoyed the boat race, loads of places to relax and people watch whilst having a drink. Good Shopping. Thanks for everything. 🙂

B and T – Middlesbrough July 2018

Absolutely incredible hosts. Thank you for everything 🙂

E, D & W – Shanghi – July 2018

Another fantastic holiday for us both in Lincoln. We would never want to stay at any other  place other than this wonderful fantastic “WELL COTTAGE”. The cottage is home from home and is a big part of our holiday and think this is our 4th stay at Well Cottage so roll on the 5th !! A big thank you to Charles & Gillian there isn’t a thing that they have not thought of leaving you for our stay. Will miss sitting out in the garden with a glass of wine in the evenings. See you soon Well Cottage 🙂

C&S – Derby – August 2018

Wonderful Time! Lovely cottage! Had all you could think of! Hope to come again!

C, P & J – Durham – August 2018

A perfect cottage in a perfect location! It is a home from home, so welcoming and cosy. We didn’t want for anything! The cottage was well equipped and beautifully furnished to an exceptional standard. Thank you for being such a wonderful host, nothing was too much trouble. We have had a fabulous few days exploring Lincoln and we shall definitely be returning!

Happy memories have been made here thank you Charles and Gillian!

The “L” Family – Stoke on Trent – August 2018

Fantastic stay – such attention to detail.

A&J – Manchester, J,D,S&M – Kent – September 2018

Perfect cottage in a perfect location with bonus parking. We have had a great, albeit short stay and appreciated the quality and standards you have provided.

J,J&S – York – September 2018

Such a beautiful cottage. Came for our daughter’s graduation can’t believe all the extra touches you provided. Can’t thank you enough. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Well Cottage, would definitely come back and stay again, would also recommend it to friends and family and anyone else I know. Charles you are a pure gentleman and an excellent host , you made us feel so welcome when we arrived . Once again thank you for everything and we all enjoyed our stay at your wonderful cottage. 🙂

H, M, S & R – London – September 2018

Thank you for renting us this beautiful cottage. Everything you can possibly need was provided, even a bottle of Prosecco. We certainly come back.  All the best.

L & P – Italy – September 2018

WOW – such a beautiful cottage in a beautiful spot.I want to live here LOL. We had a fantastic few days. Such a welcoming lovely cottage with everything you could possibly need and more….well done. I will be back ! ! !

H Family – Australia & P Family – Liverpool – September 2018

Had a fantastic stay, beautiful house – We’ll be back !

G & S and Boys – Edinburgh – September 2018

Very pleasant cottage and well located for historic area.

M&W – Shropshire – September 2018

We came here in July 2018 for 4 nights and enjoyed it so much we came back again for a week. Another fantastic holiday in a beautiful cottage and lovely city. Defo want to come back again.

R & D – Linlithgow – Scotland – October 2018

A wonderful welcome! We really appreciated all of the attention to details in this beautiful little cottage.Fantastic location with the added benefit of the garage to stow the car. Thank you 🙂

The C-G Family – Loughborough – October 2018

 

Lovely accommodating hosts. Very warm welcome, excellent cottage, location and facilities. Really appreciated the personal touches.

Thank you we will be back.

The O Family – Kendal – October 2018

We have thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Well Cottage for a well deserved rest over half term. Having not been to Lincoln before,Gillian and Charles were excellent hosts who made sure our stay was as comfortable as possible. They advised us on some great things to do in the city and we have really enjoyed our stay.

Many thanks – we hope to return in the future.

V, N and M – Sheffield UK – November 2018

Thank you for a fabulous time. Great location, great accommodation, great guests.

Thanks again,

S & Co – UK – November 2018